The metronome. 

I breathe deeply. 

I scan my body from the ground up. Wiggling my toes slightly inside my shoes, shaking out my fingers and waving my arms. The chilly air feels cold against my neck, my lower legs, my face. I breathe deeply. My chest rises as the cool air passes through my nose and slips down the back of my throat. My torso now at maximum capacity, I slowly exhale looking at the space around me. I feel a wave of nervous energy well up within me. Like a surge spreading in twisting spirals through my body and with another deep breath it too is exhaled. 

I have been here before, I know the spot. Not literally this exact point on the planet but the space between what we know and the questions we ask, between stagnation and growth. It’s in this space that the lens through which I see the world is honed. Through experiences I learn how to see the world. Experiences that are so often blurred by expectation. 

Now I am forced to wholeheartedly accept where I am, the feel of the ground beneath my feet and the air that I inhale and exhale with rhythmic timing. The path I travel is new. Where it goes, I am unsure. Some parts will be hard and some parts will be easy. 

But either way, I will move. 

Forward. 

Each step carries me closer to something new. This path winds through the subjunctive. Past judgment, obligation and expectation. Sooner than I expect I arrive at what is. 

Movement. Breath and footfalls. 

The metronome. All else fades away as I continue on. 

Breath. Footfalls and movement. 

I breathe deeply. I scan my body from the ground up. Wiggling my toes slightly inside my shoes shaking out my fingers and waving my arms. The chilly air feels cold against my neck, my lower legs, my face. I breathe deeply. 

Follow this blog by using the link in the drop down menu labeled “SHOW” at the top of the home page. If you would like to drop me a line, feel free at david.stango@gmail.com, I’d love to hear from you! Thanks for checking it out! 

Leave a Reply

